Donate
 
need_Fotor.jpg

認可證書

為了感謝學校、教師和學生的參與,PRUDE Inc. 為參與演示和項目評估提供了認可證書。

下載我們的宣傳冊:

老師的,現在預訂!

聯繫我們辦公室的 Sheri,電話634-7629 或給我們發電子郵件:  
     s.mcaulay@prudeinc.org 為您的學校安排我們寶貴的演講之一。

學生徵文比賽

鼓勵學生參加 1 頁徵文比賽。論文將被審查,獲獎者將在學年結束前收到通知。

一等獎——  $100.00 • 二等獎 -  50.00 美元 

學校演講和工作坊

我們將“創造一個不同的世界”。  我們很自豪能夠提供我們新的課堂演示和研討會,使學生能夠在過去所做的工作的基礎上再接再厲。這將允許進一步檢查刻板印象,挑戰他們的假設,並為他們提供可能需要的工具,以更好地了解我們多元化的加拿大社會的價值及其在其中所扮演的角色。

多元化教育計劃協調員做什麼?

 

在過去兩年中,越來越多的移民來到我們社區,對 PRUDE 的多元化教育計劃的需求翻了一番。 這清楚地表明了理解多樣性的必要性。 私立/公立學校(英語南部學區)邀請 PRUDE Inc. 到他們的教室、PD 培訓、文化活動和公共示範。  

 

多元化教育計劃 (DEP) 對於滿足我們當前來自主流和新移民家庭的中小學生的目標群體的需求至關重要。  DEP 允許 PRUDE Inc. 發起、計劃、參與、實施和參與許多活動,例如: 全國土著歷史月、黑人歷史月、消除種族歧視日、多元文化節等。我們合作夥伴的請求數量,例如 聖約翰市人口增長委員會和藝術文化辦公室、基督教青年會新移民聯繫、NB 亞洲遺產協會、新月谷資源中心、ONE Change、學習交流、大西洋人類服務、SJ 新移民中心、大聖約翰中國文化協會、 UNBSJ、UNB Associate Alumni Network、商業移民指導計劃、商會女性商業論壇、聖約翰當地移民夥伴關係和大西洋移民提交強大而穩定。

 

DEP 協調員是我們的主流公眾、新移民、有色人種以及其他多元文化和定居服務機構的積極支持角色。 了解不同的文化動態是一項艱鉅的任務,因為我們大多數人只知道我們自己的。 從出生開始,我們的生活經歷、價值觀和文化背景就引導我們看到和做一些成為我們“默認”的事情。 假設和形成刻板印像是人類行為,但是在沒有理解差異的情況下,我們傾向於遵循我們的想法或感受,而不是質疑這些假設的有效性。 所有參與者都需要數據收集/評估方法。 結果表明,迫切需要繼續促進多種形式的多樣性,例如態度、行為、傳統、信仰等。

 

參與者的陳述“研討會讓他們看到了他們感知事物方式的差異,以及它們實際如何或應該如何”。 有些人分享說他們對某些評論感到不舒服,不知道如何反應。

工作坊是給誰看的?

我們的講習班面向大聖約翰地區所有中學和高中的教師和學生。

工作坊包括什麼?

講習班交付滿足各種學習方式的需求。為參與者提供的 Power Point 演示、公開對話和參與活動挑戰了經常導致刻板印象和歧視的假設。要求教師和學生對內容進行反思反饋,這對於解決未來可能出現的問題很有價值。

相同多於不同!

參與者分享他們作為學生的經歷,探索讓人們感到“被包容”和“被排斥”在他人和機會之外的不同方式。討論允許學生檢查個人故事的一致性和差異。這項活動提供了機會,表明儘管我們有外在差異,但我們內在的相同多於不同。

感謝您的參与和积极地与我們分享您的故事。我們相信您是加拿大聖約翰的未來。

生活文化

生活文化是演講的獨特部分。通常,新來者會被邀請談論對你的學習和心態都有益的特定話題。提供有關主題的替代視角,您將受益於他們的不同思維和沈浸式討論。作為演講嘉賓,他們通過分享真實故事播下種子。這些故事幾乎立即對觀眾產生了影響。 

need speaker 1_Fotor.jpg
need 20181105_110341_Fotor.jpg

該項目由新不倫瑞克省資助

182651723_348507573321226_9157542026564099878_n.jpg

斯凱勒·彼得羅維奇

8級 

施洗者聖約翰 - 愛德華國王學校

一等獎 - $100

泰勒·埃斯蒂-菲爾莫爾

6年級

貝賽德中學

二等獎 - 50 美元 

DSC_9949.jpg

2019-2020 論文 優勝者

卡莉·奇亞森

7年級 

施洗者聖約翰 - 愛德華國王學校

論文名稱 - 歧視

一等獎——  100 美元 

Essay winners 2018-19.jpg

2018-19 論文獲獎者

凱瑟琳·卡彭特(左)

12年級

貝萊爾地區高中

 

查爾斯·施密特(中)

7年級

伊麗莎白公主學校

 

索耶王(右)

6年級

巴恩希爾紀念館

need_Fotor.jpg

Certificate of Recognition

To acknowledge schools, teachers and students for their participation, PRUDE Inc. provides a Certificate of Recognition for participating in the presentation and program evaluation.

Download our brochure:

Teacher's, book now!

Contact Sheri at our office at 634-7629 or email us at: 
s.mcaulay@prudeinc.org to schedule one of our valuable presentations for your school.

Student Essay Competition

Students are encouraged to participate in a 1-page-essay contest. Essays will be reviewed and the winners will be notified before the end of the school year.

1st prize - $100.00 • 2nd prize - $50.00 

Navy and yellow We are Hiring Instagram Post (1).png

School Presentations & Workshops

We will "Make A World Of A Difference". We are proud to offer our new classroom presentations and workshops that will enable students to build on the work done in the past. This will allow further examination into stereotypes, challenge their assumptions, and provide them with the tools that they may need to develop a better understanding of the value of our diverse Canadian society and the role they play within it.

What does Diversity Education Program Coordinator do?

 

Growing numbers of immigrants arriving to our community has the demand for PRUDE’s Diversity Education Program double in the past two years.  This clearly demonstrates the need in understanding diversity.  Private/public schools (Anglophone South School District) invite PRUDE Inc. to their classrooms, PD training, cultural events, and public demonstrations.  

 

Diversity Education Program (DEP) is critical in meeting the demands of our current targeted groups of elementary, middle and high school students from mainstream and new immigrant families.   DEP allows PRUDE Inc. to initiate, plan, engage, implement and participate in many events such as:  National Indigenous History Month, Black History Month, Elimination of Racial Discrimination Day, Multicultural Festivals and others. The number of requests from our partners such as  the City of Saint John’s Population Growth Committee & Arts and Cultural Office, YMCA’s Newcomer Connections, Asian Heritage Society of NB, Crescent Valley Resource Center, ONE Change, Learning Exchange, Atlantic Human Services, SJ Newcomer Centre, Greater Saint John Chinese Cultural Association, UNBSJ, UNB Associate Alumni Network, Business Immigrant Mentorship Program, The Chamber’s Women in Business Forum, Saint John Local Immigration Partnership and the Atlantic Immigration Submit is strong and steady.

 

The DEP Coordinator is a pro-active supportive role for our mainstream public, newcomers, visible minorities as well as other Multicultural and Settlement serving agencies.  Knowing different cultural dynamics is a difficult task because most of us only know our own.   Since birth our life experiences, values, and our cultural background lead us to see and do things which become our “default”.  Assumptions and formulating stereotypes is human behaviour, however in the absence understanding differences, we tend to follow what we think or feel, rather than question the validity of these assumptions.  Data collection/evaluation methods, is required by all participants.  Results show that there is a strong need to continue the promotion of diversity in its many forms such as attitude, behaviour, traditions, beliefs etc.

 

Statements made by participant’s “Workshops have made them see the difference about the way they perceive things, and how they actually are, or should be”.   Some shared they felt uncomfortable with certain comments, and didn’t know how to react.

Who is the workshop for?

Our workshops are being offered to all teachers and students of middle schools and high schools throughout Greater Saint John.

What does the workshop include?

The workshops delivery meets the needs of various learning styles. A Power Point presentation, open dialogue and engaging activities for participants challenge the assumptions that often lead to stereotypes and discrimination. Teachers and students are asked for reflective feedback on the content, which is valuable for moving forward in addressing issues that may arise in the future.

More the same than different!

Participants share their experiences as students, exploring different ways people are made to feel "included" and "excluded" from others and opportunities. Discussions allow students to examine consistencies and differences in individuals' stories. This activity provides opportunity that demonstrates despite our outward differences, we are more the same on the inside than different.

Building a better future through education

Living Culture

Living Culture is the unique part of the presentations. Usually, newcomers are invited to talk about specific topics that will benefit both your studies and your mindset. Providing an alternative perspective on topics, you’ll benefit from their different thinking and immersive discussions. As a guest speaker, they plant the seeds by sharing their real stories. Those stories have almost an instant impact on the audiences. 

need speaker 1_Fotor.jpg
need 20181105_110341_Fotor.jpg

This project has been funded by the Province of New Brunswick

Skyler Petrovich

Grade 8 

St. John the Baptist - King Edward School

First prize - $100

Taylor Estey-Fillmore

Grade 6

Bayside Middle SChool

Second prize - $50 

2019-2020 ESSAY WINNER

Kallie Chiasson

Grade 7 

St. John the Baptist - King Edward School

Essay name - Discrimination

First prize - $100 

2018-19 ESSAY WINNERS

Kathlene Carpenter (left)

Grade 12

Belleisle Regional High School

 

Charles Schmidt (middle)

Grade 7

Princess Elizabeth School

 

Sawyer King (right)

Grade 6

Barnhill Memorial